The tradition that Moses is the author of the first five books of the Bible originates from the Word of God itself. The title “law” does not only refer to the commandments that Moses received at Sinai from God.

Already in the Old Testament it often refers to the whole Pentateuch, the Thora, i.e., the first part of the Old Testament. Compare Joshua 1:7; Joshua 8:31; Judges 3:4; 1 Kings 2:3; 2 Chronicles 23:18; Ezra 3:2; Nehemiah 8:1; Daniel 9:11; Malachi 4:4.

The Lord Jesus confirms that Moses is the author in Luke 24:27; Luke 24:44; John 5:46-47.And Paul who often speaks of the law calls it the “law of Moses” (Romans 10:5; 1 Corinthians 9:9; Hebrews 10:28).

It becomes evident from two passages in the New Testament that the term “law” or “law of Moses” includes Genesis: 1 Corinthians 14:34 can only refer to the divine order in Genesis 2:18 ff; Genesis 3:16, since the law of Sinai lacks an explicit command for women to be subject, and in Galatians 4:21 ff Paul talks of the story of Ishmael and Isaac (Genesis 16; Genesis 21).In both cases he speaks of the law.

Genesis contains biographies of seven believers: Adam, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph. They are important for the divisions of this book.


Genesis 23
Genesis 24
Genesis 25
Genesis 26
Genesis 27
Genesis 28
Genesis 29
Genesis 30
Genesis 31
Genesis 32
Genesis 33
Jacob went on his way and the angels of God met him; and when Jacob saw them he said, “This is God’s army!” So he called the name of that place Mahanaim.

Genesis 32:1‭-‬2 RSV
Read Aero & the Keys of Ascension

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.